Arizona News  Awards & Recognition  CTE News

U.S. Presidential Scholars Program Nominations
Submitted by Cathie Raymond, Arizona Dept. of Education

The U.S. Presidential Scholars in Career and Technical Education Program recognizes and honors up to 20 students each year, on the basis of outstanding scholarship and demonstrated ability and accomplishment in Career and Technical Education. Each state can nominate 5 candidates for recognition for excellence in Career and Technical Education through the Chief State School Officer (CSSO-Superintendent of Public Instruction office).

A review team of CTE Stakeholders (representatives from ACOVA, ACTEAZ, JTED, Counselors, Postsecondary, business and industry and ADE/CTE) reviewed the applications and supporting documentation on the specific standards and selected the top 5 nominations to submit to the Superintendent/Communications office.

We are excited to congratulate the following students on being selected as this year’s nominees:


Rachel Cooper
Early Childhood
Mohave High School

Lana Mohamed
Centennial High School

Megan Phillips
Red Mountain High School

Nithin Ravi
Mountain Ridge High School

Anthony Woznik
Business and Hospitality
Desert View High School